API Support

patmadiganpatmadigan Member Posts: 11

We are evaluating Lightspeed Retail for use in a few of our stores. I am a developer who has been tasked with integrating our numerous applications (all .Net based) with the Lightspeed API.

I have reached out to Lightspeed Retail support via phone and chat, and they insist that there is no way for me to contact somebody in API Support about this, short of posting something on this forum.

We want to use the Lightspeed Retail API with our custom e-commerce system, for updating items, prices, and quantities, for managing suppliers, posting transactions such as sales and store transfers, sharing customers, fulfilling web orders from a store, and much more. We are currently doing all of this with Microsoft RMS using our custom integration.

Our e-commerce system is running in .Net as several applications on Windows servers, and in a Windows based application, so none of this is web based. Some things about the Lightspeed Retail API, like the requirement to use a temporary access Token from each application and each session, don't seem like a good fit for our environment. I would like to speak with somebody at Lightspeed, if that is possible, somebody who has a strong understanding of API integration with other e-commerce system.

thanks,

Pat

8 comments

• gregaricangregarican Member Posts: 511 

Welcome! This is the best place to get API support I've found. To get a better idea of the particulars regarding the Lightspeed Retail API, check here --> https://developers.lightspeedhq.com/retail/introduction/introduction/. Hope this helps a little!

• Adrian SamuelAdrian Samuel Moderator, Lightspeed Staff Posts: 627 moderator

Hey @patmadigan,

Please refer to the discussion on the following thread: https://community.lightspeedhq.com/en/discussion/2197/obtaining-access-token#latest

I have a comment dated July 16 explaining the purpose of the authentication workflow.

In summary: