Question about Imports / Exports

bentscbentsc Member Posts: 8

Hi all,

I'm new to lightspeed but I've been working big data for a while. I guess I'm just trying to get some clarification on things that I can't find in the manual in regards to imports/exports. I'm working with a Retail + eCom setup.

My goal - export 5000+ products from inventory, do mass edits in excel / using regex, etc., then Import the data back into the system. Sounds easy enough - and it seems that way. However there are some things that are a bit unnerving and I do not want to proceed until I get some clarification.

Of primary concern - I've gone in and added product imagery for something like 4000 of this products and don't want to lose this information. What is unsettling is that there is nothing regarding the images (filenames / paths / IDs / anything) in the export document. Note: I do see these details in the inventory export from the eCom.

Now, LS recommends exporting and storing the file before a new import as a backup. Normal procedure.

My question though is -- if I were to foul up the import or (though I don't even know if it's possible) manage to delete all of the products. How would my backup be of any help in regards to the product images?

Of more minor importance - on the Retail side when managing a product, there are multiple pricing input fields (Default, MSRP, Online). There is no 'online' column in the inventory export.

I have downloaded a 'Sample' import excel doc and it has an 'Online - Price' column. Could I just add that column to the export doc for import and it will be identified as such. Still not as important as the imagery questions I have.

Thanks for any guidance.

Answers

• gregaricangregarican Member Posts: 510 
    edited October 2019