Does anyone use LightSpeed retail for their ecom store?

lucylinie21lucylinie21 Member Posts: 1

I just began working for a company who is getting ready to launch their ecom website in March. They signed a contract with Lightspeed and im not sure if it was the right product. Shopify would have been better in the usability and customization options. LS is supposed to be launching a new product for the US in the summertime that is,right now, only available in the UK. This product seems to be a little closer to Shopify. Does anyone have any "hacks" or tips that could possibly help in the mean time with the customization and options for design and SEO?

7 comments

• VintageWineGuyVintageWineGuy Member Posts: 131 

I have been using Lightspeed Omni (retail and ecom) for several years. I have looked at Shopify but didn't like their store POS enough and our priority is in-store. I looked at integrating LS and Shopify and didn't want to deal with the extra cost and hassle - but we revisit this every year when we renew.

Like a lot of things, what is important to you may be different. For us, we have been able to do the basics and run our business. The things we hate about LS we have somewhat worked around with some custom dev and API calls.

Not sure what gaps you are seeing with design or SEO - most of what I need is in LS or in one of the available custom templates. I do pay an extra $25 a month for one of the templates that fills some gaps.

The problems we have are really with the integration between retail and ecom. They started as separate products and the gaps show. Promotions is a big problem because they suck in retail and don't integrate at all to ecom. So you end up having to duplicate promos, which work completely differently, and you end up having different promos online than in store.

We use a lot of other hacks - all based on scripted API calls.

• GlanGlan Member Posts: 3