Category query by fullPathName not working

mikesitmikesit Member Posts: 31
edited August 12 in Development

Mornin' Guys,

As part of our receiving process we need to create Items on the fly along with their Categories, which *may* have up to 4 SubCategories. The first step is to see if that Category (full path) already exists. So we query by "fullPathName" and it returns nothing.

And even though the test Category name use below has no subcategories the fullPathName query should work... no?

We can get a Category by ID and that works:

By Id:  https://api.lightspeedapp.com/API/Account/XXXXXX/Category/447

Returned payload:

{

   "@attributes":

   {

      "count":"1",

      "offset":"0",

      "limit":"1"

   },

   "Category":

   {

      "categoryID":"447",

      "name":"Cat1",

      "nodeDepth":"0",

      "fullPathName":"Cat1",

      "leftNode":"3",

      "rightNode":"4",

      "parentID":"0",

      "createTime":      "2018-08-30T14:20:44+00:00",

      "timeStamp":"2021-08-11T12:38:34+00:00"

   }

}


We can get a Category by Name and that works:

By Name: https://api.lightspeedapp.com/API/Account/XXXXXX/Category?name=Cat1

Returned payload:

{

   "@attributes":

   {

      "count":"1",

      "offset":"0",

      "limit":"100"

   },

   "Category":

   {

      "categoryID":"447",

      "name":"Cat1",

      "nodeDepth":"0",

      "fullPathName":"Cat1",

      "leftNode":"3",

      "rightNode":"4",

      "parentID":"0",

      "createTime":"2018-08-30T14:20:44+00:00",

      "timeStamp":"2021-08-11T12:38:34+00:00"

   }

}

But... querying by fullPathName fails:

by fullPathName: https://api.lightspeedapp.com/API/Account/XXXXXX/Category?fullPathName=Cat1

Returned payload:

{

   "@attributes":

   {

      "count":"0",

      "offset":"0",

      "limit":"100"

   }

}

Any Ideas? Do we have a syntax error somewhere?

Regards,

Rock

Best Answers

  • LucienVersendaalLucienVersendaal Moderator, Lightspeed Staff Posts: 879 moderator
    Accepted Answer

    Hi @Mike,

    Thank you for contacting us.

    I've checked this with our dev team and this is a bug. I'm gonna file this so our dev team can fix this issue.

    I will let you know when there's an update about this issue, unfortunately I can't give you any ETA.

  • LucienVersendaalLucienVersendaal Moderator, Lightspeed Staff Posts: 879 moderator
    Accepted Answer

    Hi @mikesit,

    Breaking changes will be displayed in the changelogs of the Retail API documentation. But for now I've created a ticket for you so if our devs fix this issue, you'll be notified.

Answers

  • mikesitmikesit Member Posts: 31

    BUMP.

    Hello, anyone looking at this yet?

    This issue is blocking our development.


    Regards,

    Rock

  • mikesitmikesit Member Posts: 31

    Thanks Lucien, I appreciate the reply.

    Guess we'll have to roll our own for now...

    Question: Where can I find comprehensive Release Notes/Version information for the Retail API product? I'm asking so that I might keep an eye out for the bug fix going live instead of asking about it again.

    Is there a document like that?

    Regards,

    Rock

  • mikesitmikesit Member Posts: 31

    Awesome. Thanks again.

    Rock

  • LucienVersendaalLucienVersendaal Moderator, Lightspeed Staff Posts: 879 moderator

    Hi @mikesit,

    You're welcome.

Sign In or Register to comment.