Inventory reconciliations

NickSNickS Member Posts: 33 ✭
edited September 10 in Feedback

I've just been prompted by one of the support team to make a submission for suggested improvements.

I've been using Lightspeed for several years now and have repeatedly asked to that a fundamental requirement for anyone taking a business seriously and trying to maintain and prepare accurate accounting records is the ability to be able to reconcile the inventory value in Lightspeed with the inventory value in any linked accounting package (in my case Xero).

Even determining the total value of inventory at a period end is painful. The asset report does not include lay-aways (even though they are still strictly speaking the property of the business - they have not been sold) so they need to be manually added. Even though negative inventory is a 'theoretical' thing it also needs to be taken into account (as the accounting balance will have been reduced by the theoretical cost of sale). Special orders are still a bit of a mystery and sometimes appear to have to be added.

I religiously run an asset report, a negative inventory report and a lay-away report at each month end so that I have a reliable snap-shot. (The history report is a complete waste of space clearly conceived / developed by someone that has never been anywhere near a basic accounting education). Sadly sometimes the asset reports aren't entirely reliable (eg at 31 December i have discovered to my great consternation!).

The end of period asset report combination I have noted above SHOULD give you a closing stock figure. This SHOULD agree to any closing stock figure in the accounting package that Lightspeed is integrated with. Sadly in reality the totals never agree.

So how does one go about figuring out the differences?! I've been wrestling with this for years and have made numerous suggestions (that have largely fallen on deaf ears).