How to create custom shipping method?

fmsthirdfmsthird Member Posts: 31
edited April 23 in Apps & Integrations

I want to create custom shipping method like the one in the image below

can someone point me to where I can start?

Post edited by fmsthird on
Tags:

16 comments

• JoeyJoey Administrator, Moderator, Lightspeed Staff Posts: 197 moderator

To create your own shipping integration I recommend starting here: https://developers.lightspeedhq.com/ecom/tutorials/create-a-shipping-integration/

eCom Support Team
    Lightspeed HQ
  • fmsthirdfmsthird Member Posts: 31
    1. Thanks Joey. I was reading the documentation and found that I can start developing an app using custom connection with a single shop; But there is a message after that says "Connection type: Custom connection with a single shop; then you don’t need this tutorial and do not have to become a partner.

edited April 24

Thanks again, Joey. Sorry a lot of questions, I am really a newbie here. Thanks for taking the time to answer my questions. My goal is to create a custom shipping method and that custom shipping method will be displayed in the Admin Shipping Method Configuration panel(like the above-attached image)

The custom shipping method will have its own custom configuration wherein the shop owner can set some configurations.

Is it possible to do it and how?

I don't see any parts from the backend wherein I can directly start coding. Thanks again

• Adrian SamuelAdrian Samuel Moderator, Lightspeed Staff Posts: 569 moderator

Hey @fmsthird, you cannot add your application to appear in the view of the admin section, that is reserved for internally built integrations.

You'd need to have a separate UI where you can handle those configurations.

Adrian Samuel

API Integrations Consultant - Strategic Solutions

Lightspeed HQ

@Adrian Samuel Oh this is a not so good news for me. You mean those shipping methods like the one above, let's say the bpost is internally built app?